(Haus der Geschichte | 23.4.2016)


Four-time Grammy winner Antonio Sánchez is one of the most accomplished drummers, bandleaders, and composers of his generation. Born in Mexico City, he moved to New York in 1999, where he discovered his true musical home. 2014 proved to be a landmark year for Sánchez: his ever-expanding musical vision was discovered by new audiences through his Golden Globe & BAFTA-nominated score for Alejandro González Iñárritu’s Academy Award-winning film Birdman or (The Unexpected Virtue of Ignorance), and through a globe-spanning 150-city tour with the Pat Metheny Unity Group, the latest iteration of a fifteen-year collaboration between the guitarist and drummer. At Jazzfest Bonn, he will play with Migration, his group that has performed together since 2011.


Antonio Sánchez – drums

Seamus Blake – saxophone

John Escreet – piano

Matt Brewer – bass


« back